CONSULTANCY
COMMUNITY
FOOD SYSTEMS
PERMACULTURE
PUBLICATIONS
LINKS/CONTACTS

back to home page

COMMUNITY FOOD SYSTEMS, PERMACULTURE
& RELATED WEBSITE LINKS

Compiled by Morag Gamble, SEED International

Please note: This page is in constant development. Please send an email to info@permaculture.au.com if you would like to add or change contact details.

EDUCATION CENTRES

SEED International: Sustainability Education and Ecological Design, QLD, Aus: www.permaculture.au.com
Co-founders and QLD co-ordinators of the Australian City Farms and Community Gardens Network. International educators for Permaculture and ecovillage design, community food systems and sustainable community/village/neighbourhood development. Morag Gamble and Evan Raymond.

Crystal Waters College: www.crystalwaterscollege.org.au

Crystal Waters; www.ecovillages.org/australia/crystalwaters/

The Island School, Bahamas (PDC & Eco-building school Feb 2003): www.islandschool.org

Centre for Alternative Technology, Wales: www.cat.org.uk

Schumacher College, UK: www.schumachercollege.org.uk

Findhorn Foundation: www.findhorn.org

Ecovillage Training Center, The Farm, USA: www.thefarm.org

Occidental Arts and Ecololgy Centre, CA USA: www.oaec.org
Education centre for organic farming and gardening, edible garden education for teachers, permaculture

COMMUNITY FOOD SYSTEMS

Australian City Farms and Community Gardens Network: www.magna.com.au/~pacedge/garden

Australian Community Foods: www.communityfoods.com.au
Comprehensive site containing links to community garden, community-supported-agriculture and other community food initiatives.

Canada's office of Urban Agriculture: www.cityfarmer.org

The American Community Garden Association: www.communitygarden.org

Federation of City Farms & Community Gardens UK: www.farmgarden.org.uk

National Association of Farmers' Markets UK: www.farmersmarkets.net

Brisbane Organic Growers Inc, Aus: www.bog.powerup.com.au
Using mulch; herb sprays; compost; food tips; predators and more.

Canberra Organic Growers Society www.netspeed.com.au/cogs/cogs.htm
A site with lots of authoritative, useful information on organic gardening.

Environmental Technology Centre, Murdoch University, WA, Australia: www.ies.murdoch.edu.au/etc.html
Research and development of renewable technologies and sustainable living solutions. Contact with community.

CERES Community Environmental Park: www.ceres.org.au

Balcony Gardener: www.windowbox.com/

Center for Urban Agricutlure, USA,

Fairview Gardens: www.fairviewgardens.org

F3: Foundation for Local Food Initiatives: www.localfood.org.uk

Soil Association, UK: www.soilassociation.org
Leading campaigning and certification body for organic food and farming in the UK. Excellent resource for information on local food links, box schemes, farmers' markets etc in the UK.

Henry Doubleday Research Association: www.hdra.org.uk
Europe's largest organic membership organisation. Info about gardens, what is organic gardening? what is organic food? scientific research; info and education; guides and factsheets; schools organic network.

Slow Food Movement, Italy: www.slowfood.com

International Society for Ecology and Culture, UK/USA: www.isec.org.uk
International non-profit organisation that promotes locally based alternatives to the consumer culture - local food systems, community supported agriculture, Local Food Roadshow, Roots of Change study circle pack, Ladakh Farm Stay.

Sustain: The Alliance for Better Food and Farming, UK: www.sustainweb.org
Alliance of over 100 UK public interest groups relating to food, agriculture, health and welfare of people and animals

Research Foundation for Science, Technology and Ecology, India: www.vshiva.org
Directed by Vandana Shiva, working to inform the debate on biodiversity, food security, globalisation, patenting and sustainable agriculture, particularly in regards to implications for the Third World

Via Campesina, Honduras: www.viacampesina.org
International farmers movement which co-ordinates peasant organisations of small and middle scale producers, agricultural workers, rural women and indigenous communities from Asia, Africa, America and Europe.

Farmers Market Federation NY: www.nyfarmersmarket.com

Farmers' Markets of Southern California www.farmernet.com

Food First www.foodfirst.org/

Food not Bombs: home.earthlink.net/~foodnotbombs/

Food Systems Project: www.foodsystems.org/

Green Guerillas: www.greenguerillas.org/

GreenThumb www.greenthumbnyc.org

Grow With Your Neighbors Program www.metroparks.org

Homeless Garden Project www.infopoint.com/sc/orgs/garden/

Just Food www.justfood.org

Local Harvest www.LocalHarvest.org

Making a Garden as a Community Project www.hort.cornell.edu/gardening/ Robyn Van En Center for CSA Resources: www.csacenter.org Rooftop Garden Resource Group. www.interlog.com/~rooftop SLUG: San Francisco League of Urban Gardeners: www.slug-sf.org Sustainable Communities Network www.sustainable.org The Food Project www.thefoodproject.org The Food Trust www.thefoodtrust.org Urban Harvest www.urbanharvest.org

PERMACULTURE

Permaculture International: www.nor.com.au/environment/perma

Permaculture at Crystal Waters: www.permaculture.au.com (Morag and Evan)

Tagari (Permaculture Institute & Publications) www.tagari.com

Bill Mollison: tagariadmin@southcom.com.au

International Permaculture Conference Feb 2004 Auckland New Zealand : www.permaculture.org.nz

Green Harvest, QLD Aus: www.greenharvest.com.au
Green Harvest supplies organic seeds, tools and books. Their site has useful information for the home grower, including the online seasonal newsletter Green Notes.

Santa Fe Permaculture: www.sfpermaculture.com

Permaculture Association UK: www.permaculture.org.uk

Permaculture Drylands Institute, USA: www.permaculture.net/PDI/

Agroecology: www.agroecology.org

Agroforester: agroforester.com/overstory/

Seed Savers Exchange: www.seedsavers.org

Seed Savers Network, NSW, Aus: www.seedsavers.net
Seed Savers is a community-based, national membership organisation of gardeners who preserve the biodiversity of our agricultural plants by saving and exchanging non-hybrid seed.

Plants for the future, UK: www.comp.leeds.ac.uk/pfaf/
Plants For a Future is an online searchable database of over 7000 plants. The organisation is a resource centre for rare and unusual plants, particularly those which have edible, medicinal or other uses.

SCHOOLS

Center for Ecoliteracy CA, USA: www.ecoliteracy.org
Founded by Fritjof Capra - supports edible schoolyard projects and school-community catchment restoration work

Learnscaping:www.nrm.qld.gov.au/resourcenet/education/learnscaping/index.html

Edible Schoolyard Project: www.edibleschoolyard.org

Learning through Landscapes: www.ltl.org.uk Eco Schools: www.ecoschools.com

Access to Farms/Farms for Schools: www.farmsforteachers.org.uk/atf/

Booroobin Sudbury School, Maleny: www.booroobinschool.com.au

Walking Bus: www.walkingbus.com

ORGANISATIONS (MISCELLANEOUS)

Soil and Health Association - Organic NZ: www.organicnz.pl.net

Fair Share International: www.fairshareinternational.org

Ecological Footprint, Redefining Progress: www.rprogress.org

Third World Network: www.twnside.org.sg/

London 21 Sustainability Network: www.london21.org

Urban Ecology: www.urbanecology.org

Green Map System: www.greenmap.com

Earth Island Institute: www.earthisland.org/

Schumacher Society: www.schumachersociety.org

WWOOF: Willing Workers on Organic Farms: www.wwoof.com.au, www.wwoof-australia.com.au, www.wwoof.co.nz

Society for Responsible Design: www.green.net.au/srd

ZERI, Zero Emissions Research Institute: www.zeri.org

Bioneers, USA: www.bioneers.org

Global Ecovillage Network: www.gaia.org, www.ecovillage.org

Social Entrepreneurs Network: sen-dev.socialchange.net.au

Rocky Mountain Institute (Hunter & Amory Lovins), USA: www.rmi.org

Action without Borders:www.idealist.org

Communicate for a Sustainable future: cfs.colorado.edu

Earth Charter:www.earthcharter.org

Internet Nonprofits Center: www.nonprofits.org

Womens Environement Network: www.wen.org.uk

Total Environment Centre, Sydeny: www.tec.nccnsw.org.au

Car Free: www.carfree.com, www.ecoplan.org

Smog Busters: www.infoxchange.net.au/smogbusters

LOCAL CURRENCY & ECONOMICS

Ithaca Hours: www.ithacahours.org

Permaculture Credit Union, USA:www.pcuonline.org/

Maleny and District Credit Union: www.malenycu.com.au

Foresters ANA: www.forestersana.com.au

LEED Local Economic and Enterprise Development Co-op, Maleny, AUS: www.enterprisepacific.com/ycg:leed
Worker co-op dedicated to creating new micro-enterprises and employment opportunities in the sunshine coast hinterland. Diversification of local economy. Mentors, Peer Support Lending Scheme.

LETS: www.lets.org.au, www.gmlets.u-net.com/ , www.letsystem.org,

Fair Trade & Living Wages: www.livingwages.com

COMPOST TOILETS AND GREYWATER

Greywater: www.greywater.com

Compost Toilets: www.compostingtoilet.org

COMMUNITY ARTS

Reverse Garbage, QLD, Aus: reversegarbage.com.au

Community Arts Network, USA: www.communityarts.net

Ecoartspace: www.ecoartspace.org

MAGAZINES AND JOURNALS

The Ecologist, UK: www.theecologist.org

Pacific Ecologist, NZ: www.pirm.org.nz

Renew (Magazine of the Appropriate Technology Association, AUS): www.ata.org.au

Resurgence Magazine, UK: www.resurgence.org

YES! A Journal of Positive Futures, USA: www.yesmagazine.org

New Internationalist: www.newint.org

Communities Magazine: www.ic.org

Cohousing Journal: www.cohousing.org/services/journal/

Positive News: www.oneworld.org/positive news

Eco-Directory: www.eco.com.au

Permaculture Magazine: www.permaculture.co.uk

Permaculture Activist: www.permacultureactivist.net

Hopedance Magazine, USA: www.hopedance.org

Earth Garden: www.earthgarden.com.au

Green Pepper: squat.net/cia/gp/greenpepper.htm

Independent Media Centre: www.global.indymedia.org.au

ONLINE ECO-DIRECTORIES

The Green Directory (Australia): www.thegreendirectory.com.au 1300 301 585

EcoDirectory: www.ecoshop.com.au

back to home